The showering of Baby M {part 3}

So Baby M, or Em, arrived on 14 January! What a small cute (and screaming) bundle. Just a month before I had nominated myself to arrange her (or Mrs M’s) baby shower. Who does the shower actually belong to anyway? Either way, I didn’t have a clue where to start.. well, maybe I did. Trusty Google. Overloaded with horrendous ideas for baby showers, I knew Mrs M wouldn’t be having any of it. She had her hen party only a year earlier where she was dressed ridiculously and she’d completed all her dares like a trooper. All she wanted, was a little get together. So thats what I gave her.

While Mrs M originally wanted to name her unborn daughter hippy names (I’m quoting her husband and mean no disrespect to these names) like Levi, Riley or Ivy, when the old english name Emily was decided on, so was the theme for our tea party.

It was an English country garden theme and drawing inspiration from my favourite pretty websites the table had pink rose table cloth overlays (which have now been converted into cushions for Emily’s room) and country garden flowers in milk jugs and old teapots.

I filled bottles with berry juice and tagged them with girly nursery rhymes and poems.

Our generous guests brought incredible cupcakes and biscuits along and I threw in some pink champagne for the girls who weren’t pregnant!

But before the pressies and after the cake and tea (champagne) – there was the little task of creativity. Mr and Mrs M had a very white wedding, they have a very white house and needless to say – they planned to dress their baby daughter in very white clothing. A long standing joke – I planned to throw some colour in. I had bought enough white baby grows for each guest to turn into their own masterpiece.

I found freezer paper in a back street of Bergvliet at the Quilting Bug, and went about cutting stencil shapes to be ironed onto the front of the baby grows. Fabric paint in the primary colours and ofcourse white (only to make pink!) I set everyone the task of bringing colour into baby Em’s life. The results were awesome!

Definitely a fun alternative to games that involved chocolate log and nappies or appletizer in a potty.

Leave a Reply

