The Housewife Diaries

Anyone who follows me on twitter (and I have to assume anyone who reads my blog does, otherwise… how else are you here?) would know that I have recently taken to using the hashtag #housewifediaries. I toyed with the idea of the tag being #woeisme but in all honesty that is rather depressing, and my position actually isn’t all that bad.

You see about two (maybe three, it’s all a blur now) weeks ago I checked my Monday morning emails on my blackberry before both eyes were even open. Pretty standard practice. Alarm clock, emails, twitter. In that order. There was a meeting request that included HR, our CEO and our whole team. By the time I had arrived at work after gym (and after the rest of my team) panic was in the air with Vegas (our non-smoking developer) puffing at a cigarette and our sales manager having had about 6 cups of coffee (actually that’s not that odd, he did that often). After a meeting we knew that in a nutshell they were initialising the wind down of our business.

Panic. Alarm Bells. Hmm, neither really. Unquestionable thirst for Colmant MCC? Yes.

It’s a weird thing redundancy. You’re not too sure how to feel. Did you fail? Did the business fail you? Everyone does the sympathetic head tilt when asking how you are, and no one seems to want to accept the answer that you’re fine. Really, you’re fine. You’re being paid out for two months and it’s summer. Yes, you heard me. What’s not to be fine about?

Ok, so I don’t have a job but hey, ever heard of a sabbatical? And yes I know I had one of these extended breaks when I went travelling for 3 months around Asia but who ever made the rule that you’re only allowed one break per lifetime? Unfortunately I’m not off on a jet plane anywhere, so I guess you could call me a housewife.

I always thought the only time I’d actually be a housewife, was if I had a set of triplets  and I couldn’t find a nanny to help take care of them. But being a housewife, without a house to clean or without kids definitely isn’t as bad as it sounds. Granted it’s not a long-term plan,  although if I’m honest, I’m really getting used to it. As a housewife I finally get to do the things I was feeling too exhausted to do all year. Like try out Bikram yoga (ommm), write a blog post (or a few), read my book (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo) or maybe just lie at the pool. I go to gym, I go have coffee at the places I always drive past but never have time to pop in to. I even take my MAC along (to write my blog posts) and look like one of those über cool self-employed Capetonians (some may call them hipsters) I’ve always been secretly jealous of. Except I’m not self-employed and I don’t have a hat or wear scarves in summer. I’m just… well, a housewife and ok with that. Apparently I also go wine tasting after a breakfast in the burbs. Hey, all in a day.

So what now? And what’s next? I get these questions a lot and I don’t know the answers. Almost every day I have a meeting, and so far I have met awesome people. Discoverers, innovators, thought leaders and the odd recruitment agent too. I’m in a not so desperate position and that’s a great place to be when working out what your next career move is.

So for now I’m like a teacher on a paid holiday except I didn’t have to deal with children all year. It’s summer (well, it claims to be – Cape Town what is up with this weather?!) and it’s the festive season. I’m so happy (and fairly chilled… ommm) and have faith that everything really will work out for the best.

And so, the housewife diaries are born.

Not your ordinary housewife
Leave a Reply

