Almost 34, and this is what’s troubling me.

Ok, so lets be frank. My hair… it’s not great. It doesn’t really grow. It isn’t really blonde (anymore). It kinda sucks. Its straight on top, with a whole wave thing going on underneath. I don’t really know how to wear it, or blowdry it. And basically… It doesn’t really grow. The trouble is… I want it long. I want it so long that people stop and say ‘how long is that girls’ hair?’ (ok – maybe I don’t want it that long). The trouble also is: I want to cut it. Next week.

In 2000, my first year at Uni (and also about 10kgs heavier than I was in Matric) I decided to chop the blonde length that I did have, off. Short-ish at first, and then in early 2001 (and my second year) a lot shorter.

Awesome ID book pic huh? Judge all you want – I won over husband-to-be with this Gwyneth Paltrow hairdo. Shame. (for him, for me… it was horrible!)

2001, chubby and Sliding Doors as my favourite movie

It grew back, slowly…

Then in 2007, after I made very sure there was no way our relationship was ready to be near a church or a white dress – I took a risk and went for a cut again. (Turns out my then boyfriend-now husband wasn’t paying attention and proposed anyway just 2 months later. We were engaged for 18 months while my hair grew back. Because: brides need long hair. Ok, not the only reason we were engaged that long. You try plan a wedding from London when you’re the first person out of everyone to get married and facebook wasn’t even a thing yet).

Bobbing in 2007 (and also doing the Brit-brit impersonation)
Bobbing in 2007 (and also doing the Brit-brit impersonation)

It has now been 8 years. That’s EIGHT years. And I still have only mid-length hair. I’ve tried everthing. EVERYTHING!! Ok, I’ve tried good shampoo and conditioner – but I’m just guessing this is it – like my weight, this is the length my hair is just comfy at.

I always said that once I have kids I’ll cut my hair short(er) again but first I just want to achieve the mermaid locks. (I also said I just want to have a flat stomach once in my life!)  Given that I’m not going to have kids I haven’t had kids yet, and that I’m reaching a bored phase (in life) I’m really considering cutting my hair. I mean, why wait for things you can’t control. Like falling pregnant, or hair to grow.

So, for my 34th birthday (which is next week) I am considering cutting my hair. Like this:

Blonde Lob
The Blonde Lob. I could do this.

Or like this… without the red.

Would take guts to change colour too. I don't have said guts.
Would take guts to change colour too. I don’t have said guts.

But I can’t give up on the dreams. So, I may also buy me some mermaid hair extensions. Like these, that I borrowed from our Beauty Buyer at work where we might sell them (online!)

They’re only clip in husband – relax!

See, then everyone wins. Ok me. Its just me that wins. I get a change and I get my long hair.

Now just to find those balls somewhere to book the appointment.
Or should I just cancel the idea, put my credit card away… and continue to try and grow my hair?!

Leave a Reply

