Winter. I got this covered

After attending the Spree AW15 launch on Thursday night (in a work capacity obviously) I really do feel I have winter covered. I guess, mostly because I’m the one who collected the content and approved the press release which went out to the media the day after the event, I suppose. And also, to be fair, it’s because I sat up and paid attention when the fashion team mentioned that jeans were the mot exciting thing about winter this year!

Jeans you say? Well then this Winter, I am sorted.

As someone that really isn’t a fan of Winter, of covering up, of being cold, of wet mornings, and rain on my windscreen, rainy traffic, wet hair, dark evenings and comfort foods, it is really not something I’d have ever have commented on on purpose in my 34 years of life – Winter I mean. That, and quite clearly my experience of Winter has been limited to London… and Cape Town. Joburg, I hear, tells a different Winter story but I’m pretty sure “cold” is still in the list of things Winter is.

But, in a non-fashion way of explaining why this Winter, I’m sorted – jeans, shirts, heels and a coat. It sounds like the simplest solution to Winter ever. As long as you have enough coats, and as long as you understand what I mean by “coat”. Nope, not that warm thing you wear between car and the office and remove once inside – hell no! I’m talking something that is the last layer of your outfit but that you keep on the whole day.

Denim and cobalt blue.  This coat is my must-have this Winter
Denim and cobalt blue.
This coat is my must-have this Winter
And now for something a little different.
And now for something a little different.
Batwing cape. Because, cold arms, don't care.
Batwing cape. Because, cold arms, don’t care.

While I’m not going to jumpsuit or denim-on-denim any time soon (never say never I suppose) – this whole coat thing I could get into. Although I may need a coat on top of my coat for Cape Town. Just Saying.

Photographer:  Travys Owen @ Infidels
Model:  Ariel @ Ice Models
Make up:  Algria Ferreria
Hair:  Mary Gouveia

Leave a Reply

